If you had to start over...

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
TonyG

If you had to start over...

Post by TonyG »

Dear HB experts,

I've been using Housebot in my campervan for the last 7 years, and now it's time to build a second server for the home. I'm quite excited about this as I shall be basing my solution on something I'm familiar with (HB), and feel "now is the time" with regards the availability of Home Automation devices.

As this is a greenfield plan without any legacy/incumbent devices installed, I'm looking to use the latest and hopefully non-proprietary devices and protocols.

So, if you all had to start from scratch:
  • What would your general approach be in terms of protocols and hierarchy?
  • What functional devices would you retain, and which would you drop? Which would you consider essential? (security devices, HVAC, lighting, information services, etc)
  • Would you use wireless exclusively, or still rely on Ethernet for more critical use?
  • What's in your "non-essential but sexy" closet? Those solutions that make it interesting/pioneering/fun... (and what are your favourite sequences: if this and this happen, do this..)
  • Where would you locate your housebot server? Anywhere you wouldn't?
  • Would you run your servers with a local (touchscreen) remote client? (as a master)
  • What remote client would you choose today?
  • Any other considerations?
These are just a few questions to get the ball rolling.

Your view on any of the above would be interesting and very useful.
Richard Naninck
HouseBot Guru Extraordinaire

Re: If you had to start over...

Post by Richard Naninck »

1. What would your general approach be in terms of protocols and hierarchy?
HouseBot + ZWave

2. What functional devices would you retain? Which would you consider essential? (security devices, HVAC, lighting, information services, etc)