Page 1 of 1

Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Wed May 30, 2012 3:31 pm
by allanstevens
I have created a plugin for EventGhost that will allow you to control HouseBot via the External Control Device.

This plugin will allow you to run the following actions:

- Set Device Property Value
- Set Mode State
- Execute Task
- Blank Remote Screen
- Open Remote Panel
- Close Remote Panel
- Execute Remote Application
- Minimize Remote
- Restore Remote

More information can be found over on the eventghost forums:
http://www.eventghost.net/forum/viewtop ... f=9&t=3868

Re: Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2015 1:43 am
by jacco van der Ven
I tried also EventGhost, but is it also possible that Housebot will trigger an action in EventGhost?

Jacco

Re: Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Sat Feb 07, 2015 4:31 pm
by edgar
Hi Jacco,

I don't think this pulgin does that. I use Evenghost and Housebot alot. The easiest way to communicate HB to EG is to create a Execute Program Device in Housebot and use the -e switch.

Example: Create an event in Eventghost to reboot the computer called Reboot

Create a Housebot Execute Program Device with the following Arguments:

Arguments -e Reboot

works like a charm!

I do this for controlling lots of thing with Eventghost. I actually used it with Tasker and Android until Scott pushed out the Android remote!

Best of luck!

v/r

Kevin

Re: Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Sun Feb 08, 2015 11:24 am
by jacco van der Ven
Ok, thanks, it is working, another question,

I received an temperature from an Oregon sensor, but how do you write the value to the property value?

Maybe stupid question, but I have no idea how to do this.


Regards, Jacco

Re: Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 3:37 pm
by allanstevens
Hi Jacco,

Yes as Kevin said. The plugin is only one way (EG->HB). But can use the EventGhost.exe commandline via the Execute Program Device, see screenshot.
Capture1.PNG
Capture1.PNG (20.53 KiB) Viewed 11336 times
Regarding the value, its not a stupid question. You need to pass the payload. It took me a while to get my head round it. But there are plenty of posts about it over on the EventGhost forum. I also use the Oregon sensors, you can set the value as {eg.event.payload}. I also run a script before that removed all the junk. See screenshot and script.
Capture2.PNG
Capture2.PNG (14.84 KiB) Viewed 11336 times

Code: Select all

pay = eg.event.payload.split(" ");

eg.event.payload = pay[2].replace("+","");

print "Temp is " + eg.event.payload;
Cheers,
Al

Re: Control HouseBot from EventGhost

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2015 4:27 pm
by jacco van der Ven
Thanks, it is working, I think that I have more questions but first I will use the EG forum to find answers. :wink: