New guy

General HouseBot discussion. Any issues that don't fit into any of the other topics belong here.
PilotBMP

New guy

Post by PilotBMP »

Hi all,
I am a current MisterHouse user and I am not very fond of it. I am no programmer so this is hard to fix when something breaks. I would like to use HouseBot as it looks fairly easy for Windows. My setup is as follows:
--1-wire lighting and temp sensors
--HAI OmniStat 2 thermostat

Would HouseBot be what I need? Thanks in advance.

Ben
Timoh
Advanced Member

Re: New guy

Post by Timoh »

Hi Ben,
As far as I know, no one has written 1-wire support for HB, and I'm fairly certain it's not included natively. That being said, if your 1-wire setup communicate with Mr. House in a simple fashion such as serial/rs232, then it should be simple enough to get it to work with HB using the generic serial interface.

Same thing for the HAI thermostat... I haven't seen much on it with Housebot. But depending on how it currently talks to Mr. House, it may or may not be easy to port over.

Do you know how your current setup works?

Tim
Timoh
Advanced Member

Post by Timoh »

Hi Ben,
I should have thought of this sooner...
But 1-wire your should be OK with the Xap plugin. (http://cebotics.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=856266).

It may very well use the same setup as Mr. House.... ie: Mr. House uses xap protocol to talk to 1-wire.

Tim
PilotBMP

Post by PilotBMP »

Thank you! I will proceed with my migration. Yes, my 1-wire uses a simple serial as does the thermostat. Hopefully this can be setup without a lot of programming language. I cannot reach the guy who help me setup MisterHouse so I am on my own on this one. Thanks for the help.

Ben
Timoh
Advanced Member

Post by Timoh »

Just a couple of things to keep in mind....
Some coding will probably be required.
You must know the serial protocol of your devices.

This thread should point you in the right direction. (http://cebotics.com/forums/viewtopic.ph ... ic#p451706)