RS232 Problem

Having problems? Maybe others have had the same problem too. Post HouseBot technical issues here.
peakey

RS232 Problem

Post by peakey »

Hi, I am new to housebot and having problems with the generic serial device setup, I have followed the online tutorial to the letter, but I cannot get the serial port to work from housebot. I am trying to use housebot to talk to homevision which in turn will control sky tv via IR. I have used hyperterminal to communicate with the serial port and homevision and all works as expected, this problem is with housebot. Interestingly I evaluated housbot 9 month ago and had this working, I have now purchased and installed on a clean xp pro machine and it will not work.

Things I have tried.
1.Re-installing housebot with generic serial device disabled, then install again with enabled.
2.I get no errors in the logs, I have enabled advanced tracing for my homevision device

I get not entries in either log when I toggle the device property, and I get no received response in the received data property or received hex data property.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards peakey.
Richard Naninck
HouseBot Guru Extraordinaire

Re: RS232 Problem

Post by Richard Naninck »

It seems you are beyond basics here since you got it working in hyperterm but still, what you discribe is not that much so I guess we have to start at the beginning.

You created a hardware device and have all settings set correctly?! Baudrate, stopbits etc.
Did you map certain serial strings or are you using the wildcard to get your messages across?
What do you see in the Received Data, Received Hex Data en Send Data properties? At least you should see something in the Send Data property when trying to get a message across.

All very basic questions, I know, but since it doesn't work, things have to be ruled out first..
peakey

Post by peakey »

Thanks Richard, well where should the Send Data properties be I don't have one?.