How Can I display the contents of a .txt file in a SWremote

Simple advice that you may find useful. Feel free to discuss or add your own.
edgar

How Can I display the contents of a .txt file in a SWremote

Post by edgar »

Hello,

I am new to HB and not a huge programmer. Is there anyway to have the text within a text file present, and even change automatically on a specified interval, on a SWRemote?

Thanks much,

Kevin
Richard Naninck
HouseBot Guru Extraordinaire

Re: How Can I display the contents of a .txt file in a SWremote

Post by Richard Naninck »

Yes and yes.
I display rss news feeds in an alphalist in my theme and change the subject every 20 seconds.
You need an alphalist (alphanumeric list) in your theme which is actually a property in the server and fill that property with your text. Filling it with changing text can be done using a script. Whenever you use TABs in an alphalist, you will be surprised by its function. Any text before the first TAB isn't visible and used for other purposes (which is a little too advanced to get into right now). So if plain text is what you need, make sure you strip it from TAB's and put it in the alphalist property. Then create an alphalist in your theme and point it to the property and your text will be visible.
You can also use a standard alphanumeric property to display text. Pro's are that you don't have to create your own line lengths etc depending on the size of the theme control since this is handled by HB but Con's are that you don't get scroll bars to scroll through the text if the text is larger than your display area.

Hope that helps a bit.

EDIT: This thread should be in the general section I guess...
edgar

Post by edgar »

Thanks for the reply.