1-wire and UPB

Have an idea for a new feature? Voice your opinion here.
Post Reply
heff
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:51 am

1-wire and UPB

Post by heff »

Has any one looked at useing 1-wire networks with housebot.



I have been playing around with importing xml output into housebot but it seems a bit clumsy. If there was a way to poll the 1-wire network from house bot and also control relays that would be a lot better.



Also is anyone developing UPB support for housebot?? It seems alot better that X10 and you can get it here in AUS now( we seem to be a bit slow on the uptake of DIY HA here).





Heff
ericvic
Senior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Feb 26, 2004 11:06 am
Location: Irondale, AL
Contact:

Post by ericvic »

I was working on a plug-in for 1-Wire but it has not been worked on for a while, other more pressing tasks came up. I hope to get back to it in the near future but I can't promise anything.



I don't have any info on UPB (even though it seems like a good protocol).



Eric

http://www.hobby-boards.com
wallebalboa
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Sweden

running 1-wire solution...

Post by wallebalboa »

hello guys.. i am running a (complex) 1-wiresolution, an would be more then happy to se a more integrated interface/device solution on HB.



this is my set up: (works-fast-but awkward to configure)



> 1-wire ( 25 temp sensors , 2 ADconverters, 1 windvane wetherstation)



> Pointsix onesix DDE server ( this is polling the 1-wire and "publish DDE links")



> hardcoded VB application for linking DDE to HB thru external control device



Why all this? i had a running 1-wire network installed when i found housebot. to do 1-wire directly in HB would be great.



as is now, to add a 1-wire device i need to add a device in both HB and onesix and recode the vb code to link them togeter.... so the net is not expanding... but works fine..

the 1-wire is great to collect temperatures, cheap and stable..



for digital i/o i use a 96 pin advantech card PCI-1753 but would like to see a cheap solution for digital io thru the paralellport as a great complement...



>ericvic: the stuff on hobby-boards look great, i would really like to se your devices get in to HB



regs walle
Last edited by wallebalboa on Tue Aug 30, 2005 4:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
heff
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:51 am

Post by heff »

Walle



any chance of getting a look at you VB code. I have had a look at the external control and it might be the way to go, untill some one creates a 1-wire plug in.





Also is any one working on a UPB plug in( Scott) or should I give up on the idea of useing UPB in Housebot????





Heff
wallebalboa
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Sweden

DDE to HB in VB..

Post by wallebalboa »

Hello

this is my VB code... i am not a programmer :oops: but it works...

any enhancements or suggestions are welcome...



"

Dim obj As HBControl

Private Sub Form_Initialize()

Set obj = CreateObject("HBControlMod.HBControl")



' set port , ip and password for HB external control



szRsp = obj.Connect("port", "ip", "psw")



' set up DDE link



TEMP01.LinkTopic = "OneSix|TEMP01"

TEMP01.LinkItem = "Input"

TEMP01.LinkMode = vbLinkAutomatic



WINDDIRECTION.LinkTopic = "OneSix|WINDVANE1"

WINDDIRECTION.LinkItem = "direction"

WINDDIRECTION.LinkMode = vbLinkAutomatic



WINDSPEED.LinkTopic = "OneSix|WINDVANE1"

WINDSPEED.LinkItem = "speed"

WINDSPEED.LinkMode = vbLinkAutomatic



' set values on first run



obj.SetPropertyValue "TEMP01", "Value", Format(TEMP01.Text, "0.0")



obj.SetPropertyValue "WINDSPEED", "Value", Format(WINDSPEED.Text, "00.0")



obj.SetPropertyValue "WINDDIRECTION", "Value", Format(WINDDIRECTION.Text, "000")



End Sub



' update when DDE item changes



Private Sub TEMP01_Change()

obj.SetPropertyValue "TEMP01", "Value", Format(TEMP01.Text, "0.0")

End Sub



Private Sub WINDDIRECTION_Change()

obj.SetPropertyValue "WINDDIRECTION", "Value", Format(WINDDIRECTION.Text, "000")

End Sub



Private Sub WINDSPEED_Change()

obj.SetPropertyValue "WINDSPEED", "Value", Format(WINDSPEED.Text, "00.0")

End Sub



Private Sub Form_Terminate()

Set obj = Nothing

End Sub

"



i have some problems with english vs european number formats... ( . or , )



need to build in some error handling and reset links function..



the example describes moving values from DDE to housebot. you need to set up text items on a form for each item that you want to mirror. set up devices in housbot: TEMP01.Value etc



the onesix server was on their web site as a demo version for 2 devices recently..



i am running this with 30 1-wire devices and it works.



i am really looking fwd if any want to get 1-wire in to housebot. probably not so cumbersam with the TMEX drivers. if uoy are a programmer 8)



ride on, walle
heff
Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 7:51 am

Post by heff »

Walle



What 1-wire adaptor are you useing. I have been told that you have to buy one from embeded data systems to use with the dde server or will a normal ds9709u work????



Have had a play with your code and work fine. Was thinking of make some adjustment to it. will post when I have some think.



Heff
wallebalboa
Senior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 6:52 pm
Location: Sweden

1-wire adaptor

Post by wallebalboa »

Nice to see that the code works for you heff.. however any enhancements are welcome.



"Back in the old days" i bought 2 onesix servers directly from pointsix. i have it running with both HA3 (from pointsix) and DS9097U-9 from dallas.



i do not see where to download the server any more :shock: . the version i use (2.2a) , have a demo mode where you can use 2 devices (ex DS1820) for free. this is good to use for testing and small applications.



any other hints on good 1-wire software is apreciated...



regs walle
Post Reply