xAP for HouseBot - and can I programatically create devices

HouseBot Plugin Development Discussions.
CouchPotatoe

xAP for HouseBot - and can I programatically create devices

Post by CouchPotatoe »

I'm very new to HouseBot/Meedio so excuse me if these are silly questions - I'm trying conceptually to understand the best way to approach adding xAP support. xAP is a HomeAutomation protocol that presents all devices via an Ethernet connection using UDP (oversimplified). All devices are broadcast in nature and effectively networked. So I need to receive/send UDP packets - decode their format (properties) and map these to devices in HouseBot in realtime.

Ideally it seems I could make a software device plugin but my experience in C++ is nil - if it could be done in VB I would be well pleased. Maybe some time down the road...

So are there other ways to approach this ? I saw two interesting possibilities - the External control using COM and the device replication that HouseBot supports. This way I could write an external bridge application/service and link between xAP and HouseBot devices in realtime. Not ideal but perhaps a useable solution. A couple of questions.

1) Is the protocol that the device replicator uses published anywhere ?

2) Is there any way to create devices under program/script control from HouseBot. Ideally I would like to be able to add/modify/delete a software device, by modify I mean alter the number and type of properties a device has.

3) Hopefully I can accomplish 2) using the External control - perhaps by utilising a dummy device, setting properties and then launching a script to manage the device creation.